Week 5 Part 1 [Eddie Crosby]

Fine_Print_Mortgage_Ad_6-2012dcYG

I recently went house shopping for a new house back in April of this year, and I am a service connected disabled veteran, I have a disability rating of 50% or higher and a half decent credit score so I figured that buying a home would be easy, with a low 2.5 to 3% interest rate. And with all the letters and advertisements I was hearing on the radio, getting in the mail and seeing on the television I figured that all I would have to do is just fill out the paperwork and bingo I would be done. just that easy, Right? .Wrong because as I dove into this mess of home buying between me and possible lenders I quickly learned the sad truth that not all veterans qualify for such a low rate on such a great home mortgage plan as was not advertized by the lenders were there hidden limitation like not having a steady job and a 700 credit score, and an Honorable discharge, well after some bad financial choices in my youth and recently moving here to Alaska, and currently enrolled as a full time student here in Fairbanks, I quickly found myself not being qualified as the ads were telling me in there selective hidden messages, that “All veterans are eligible” but what that ads did not say is that “Not all Veterans qualify”.

veteran-military-credit